Executive Committee

The Executive Committee (EC) is composed of the three ICDC team co-leaders. The EC oversees implementation and administration of the research program, allocation and distribution of funds and maintains overall accountability, authority and decision-making responsibility for the ICDC program.

Brenda Hemmelgarn, MD, PhD, FRCPC

Team Leader

Dr. Brenda Hemmelgarn

Dr. Hemmelgarn is a specialist in Nephrology with research expertise in health services research. She is a Professor in the Departments of Medicine and Community Health Sciences, and is Head of the Department of Community Health Sciences, Cumming School of Medicine at the University of Calgary. Dr. Hemmelgarn’s research interests are in the study of chronic medical conditions including CKD and end-stage renal disease (ESRD) using computerized data sources, including the Alberta Kidney Disease Network (AKDN) repository of laboratory data and Alberta Health and Wellness (AHW) administrative data. Dr. Hemmelgarn holds the Roy and Vi Baay Chair in Kidney Research. Dr. Hemmelgarn holds the Roy and Vi Baay Chair in Kidney Research. She is is also active in clinical practice guideline development including international (KDIGO chronic kidney disease) guidelines, and is Director of the AKDN and co-lead for the ICDC research team. 


Braden Manns, MD, MSc, FRCPC

Team Leader


Dr. Manns is the Svare Professor in Health Economics, a Nephrologists at the University of Calgary (Departments of Medicine and Community Health Sciences), and an Alberta Innovates - Health Solutions Health Scholar.  He is the Scientific Director of the AHS Kidney-Strategic Clinical Network.  He has expertise in Applied Health Economics and clinical research in Nephrology.  His current research interests include examining implications of patient-borne costs on care and outcomes in chronic disease, examining cost effectiveness of strategies and health care policies for managing patients with chronic disease, assessing the adequacy of care for Albertans with diabetes, etc. He has experience in pharmaceutical priority setting, having served on provincial and national committees for drug evaluation, including a term as Chair of the Canadian Expert Drug Advisory Committee from 2006-2008. Dr. Manns is President of the Canadian Society of Nephrology and principal investigator of a Canadian kidney disease knowledge translation network, guiding health policy for patients with kidney disease (CANN-NET).


Marcello Tonelli, MD, SM, FRCPC

Team Leader

Dr. Marcello Tonelli

Dr. Tonelli is a specialist in Internal Medicine and Kidney Diseases at the University of Calgary. He has an SM in Epidemiology from the Harvard School of Public Health and is an Alberta Innovates-Health Solutions Population Health Scholar. Dr. Tonelli holds several positions with the University of Calgary: Associate Vice President (Health Research), Senior Associate Dean of Clinical Research at the Cumming School of Medicine, and Professor of Medicine. He is also a team co-Lead for the Interdisciplinary Chronic Disease Collaboration (ICDC) an AI-HS Interdisciplinary Team Grant. He is a past member of the Alberta Minister of Health’s Expert Committee on Drug Evaluation and Therapeutics, past President of the Canadian Society of Nephrology, and Chair of the Canadian Task Force for Preventive Health Care, which makes recommendations on preventive health services for Canada’s 36,000 family doctors. Internationally, Dr. Tonelli is the chair of the International Society of Nephrology’s Research and Prevention committee and a board member for KDIGO, the practice guideline organization for kidney specialists worldwide. 


See Also 

Organizational Chart